LEGAL BASIS

Shareholder Rights Directive II – Directive (EU) 2017/828 amending Directive 2007/36/EC

 

The SRD II (Shareholder Rights Directive II) grants stock-exchange listed companies (issuers) with domicile in the European Economic Area the right to identify their shareholders. Intermediaries are obligated to enable the issuer to identify the shareholders.

When was the SRD II implemented?

The EU issued the Shareholder Rights Directive II (SRD II) on 17 May 2017. The SRD II fundamentally amends and revises the existing EU Directive 2007/36/EC and introduces changes for shareholders of stock-exchange listed companies with registered office in the EEA.

The regulations on the identification of shareholders and for simplifying the exercise of shareholders’ rights are implemented in Germany by the Implementing Law for Directive 2007/36/EC (ARUG ll). The EU substantiated the SRD II further by the Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/1212. The regulations on the identification of shareholders have been in effect since 3 September 2020.

What does the SRD II mean for financial intermediaries? Who is affected?

The SRD II contains regulations for financial intermediaries that are entrusted with the depositing/management of securities or the keeping of securities accounts in the name of the shareholder (or other intermediaries). Financial intermediaries must enable the identification of shareholders if the issuer maintains its registered office and license in the EEA and its shares are traded at a regulated market.

Which parties are affected by the SRD II?

  • Companies, which maintain their registered office in the EEA and whose shares are admitted to trading at a regulated market
  • Intermediaries within and outside of the EEA
  • Institutional investors and asset managers, who invest in corresponding securities

What are the objectives of the SRD II?

Its focus is not only information being given to shareholders in a more effective way when it comes to company news, but also and especially making the exercise of shareholders’ rights less complex even in cross-border scenarios.

Objectives at a glance:

  • Identification of shareholders (Know Your Shareholder)
  • Simplified transmission of information and simplified exercise of shareholders’ rights
  • More transparency on the part of institutional investors, asset managers and voting rights advisers
  • Simplifying the co-determination by shareholders
  • Publication of transactions with related parties

Which markets and products are affected by the SRD II?

The SRD II applies primarily to shares that are issued by companies with registered office in an EEA Member State, which are admitted to trading at a regulated market within the EEA. This also includes securities listed at multiple markets.

The Directive therefore has global effects on both intermediaries as well as shareholders, who hold the corresponding shares.

What information is contained in the response to a shareholder identification request pursuant to the SRD II?

  • Definitive identification of the shareholder
  • Names and, if applicable, first name of the shareholder
  • Complete address of the shareholder (including country code)
  • Email address of the shareholder (if available to the intermediary)
  • Type of participation
  • Number of shares the shareholder holds at the responding intermediary
  • Name and unique identifier of a third party appointed by the shareholder if applicable

Cookie settings

We use cookies to ensure the optimum design of our websites for you and to improve our platform for you. In the settings you can select which cookies you want to enable. More information and the option of changing your selection at any time and revoking any consent you have granted is provided in the data protection information.

By clicking Confirm all you accept this processing.

By clicking Confirm you accept this processing.

GESETZLICHE GRUNDLAGE

Shareholder Rights Directive II – Richtlinie (EU) 2017/828 zur Änderung der Richtlinie 2007/36/EG

 

Die SRD II (Shareholder Rights Directive II) räumt börsennotierten Gesellschaften (Emittenten) mit Sitz im Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum das Recht ein, ihre Aktionäre zu identifizieren. Intermediäre sind verpflichtet, die Identifizierung der Aktionäre durch den Emittenten zu ermöglichen.

Wann wurde die Bestimmung SRD II umgesetzt?

Am 17. Mai 2017 erließ die EU die Shareholder Rights Directive II (SRD II). Die SRD II ergänzt und überarbeitet die bestehende EU-Richtlinie 2007/36/EG grundlegend und bringt Änderungen für Aktionäre börsennotierter Gesellschaften mit Sitz im EWR.

Die Vorschriften zur Identifizierung von Aktionären und zur Erleichterung der Ausübung von Aktionärsrechten wurden in Deutschland durch das Gesetz zur Umsetzung der zweiten Aktionärsrechterichtlinie (ARUG II) umgesetzt. Die SRD II-Richtlinie wurde von der EU durch die Durchführungsverordnung (EU 2018/1212) konkretisiert. Seit dem 3. September 2020 gelten die Vorschriften zur Aktionärsidentifikation.

Was bedeutet die SRD II für Finanzintermediäre und wer ist betroffen?

Die SRD II enthält Vorschriften für Finanzintermediäre, die mit der Verwahrung/ Verwaltung von Wertpapieren oder der Führung von Wertpapierkonten im Namen der Aktionäre (oder anderen Intermediären) betraut sind. Finanzintermediäre müssen das Identifizieren von Aktionären dann ermöglichen, wenn der Emittent seinen Sitz und seine Zulassung im EWR hat und wenn seine Aktien an einem geregelten Markt gehandelt werden.

Welche Parteien sind durch SRD II betroffen?

  • Gesellschaften, die ihren eingetragenen Sitz im EWR haben und deren Aktien an einem geregelten Markt zugelassen sind
  • Intermediäre innerhalb und außerhalb des EWR
  • Institutionelle Anleger und Vermögensverwalter, die in entsprechende Aktien investieren

Was sind die Ziele der SRD II?

Neben einer effektiveren Information der Aktionäre über Unternehmensereignisse, stehen insbesondere die Erleichterung der Ausübung von Aktionärsrechten auch in grenzüberschreitenden Konstellationen im Vordergrund.

Ziele im Überblick:

  • Identifizierung der Aktionäre (Know Your Shareholder)
  • Vereinfachte Informationsübermittlung und erleichterte Ausübung von Aktionärsrechten
  • Mehr Transparenz seitens institutioneller Anleger, Vermögensverwalter und Stimmrechtsberater
  • Mitsprache der Aktionäre erleichtern
  • Geschäfte mit nahestehenden Personen öffentlich machen

Welche Märkte und Produkte sind von der SRD II betroffen?

Die SRD II gilt in erster Linie für Aktien, die von Gesellschaften mit Sitz in einem EWR-Mitgliedstaat ausgegeben werden und die zum Handel auf einem geregelten Markt innerhalb des EWR zugelassen sind. Dazu gehören auch mehrfach notierte Wertpapiere.

Die Richtlinie hat damit globale Auswirkungen sowohl auf Intermediäre als auch auf Aktionäre, die entsprechende Aktien halten.

Welche Informationen beinhaltet die Antwort auf eine Aktionärsidentifikationsanfrage nach SRD II?

  • Eindeutige Kennung des Aktionärs
  • Namen und ggf. den Vornamen des Aktionärs
  • Vollständige Anschrift des Aktionärs (inkl. Ländercode)
  • E-Mail-Adresse des Aktionärs (sofern dem Intermediär vorliegend)
  • Art der Beteiligung
  • Anzahl der Aktien, die der Aktionär beim antwortenden Intermediär hält
  • Name und eindeutige Kennung eines gegebenenfalls vom Aktionär benannten Dritten

Cookie-Einstellungen

Wir setzen Cookies ein, um unsere Webseiten optimal für Sie zu gestalten und unsere Plattform für Sie zu verbessern. In den Einstellungen können Sie auswählen, welche Cookies Sie zulassen wollen. Weitere Infos sowie die Möglichkeit Ihre Auswahl jederzeit zu ändern und erteilte Einwilligungen zu widerrufen finden Sie in den Datenschutzhinweisen.

Mit einem Klick auf Alle akzeptieren akzeptieren Sie diese Verarbeitung.

Mit einem Klick auf Bestätigen akzeptieren Sie diese Verarbeitung.